The rumours were true, Aphex Twin returns
Aug 2014 19

The rumours were true, the British electronica renegade Aphex Twin will finally return with a new album in September. 

The album was announced on the Aphex Twin twitter via a link to a Tor website (only accessible with the Tor browser), but there is also a regular website at which lists everything there is to know about your browser (IP, plugins, etc etc), but not much about the album except a log and some artwork that you can see below. So, the public site shows everything about “you” and the deep web Tor website shows information about the album. Richard D. James is surely having a laugh.

Although the date of the release is still to be announced, the album would be a follow-up to the “Druqs” double-album of 2001. There has been activity since the album of course, with the mammoth “Analord” series of 2005 being the most significant, but not an album proper.

Anyway, the new album title is “Syro” and here’s the tracklist (presumably including BPM as well):

  1. minipops 67 (source field mix) – 120.2
  2. XMAS_EVET10 (thanaton 3 mix) – 120
  3. produk 29 – 101
  4. 4 bit 9d api+e+6 – 126.26
  5. 180db_ – 130
  6. CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix) – 141.98
  7. fz psuedotimestretch+e+3 – 138.85
  8. CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix) – 152.97
  9. syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix) – 141.83
  10. PAPAT4 (pineal mix) – 155
  11. s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix) – 163.97
  12. airsatsana – 102


By: Johan Carlsson with additions by Mike Whyte