Covenant’s “Leaving Babylon” scheduled for September
Feb 2013 19

The Swedish electro legend that is Covenant is soon back with new material. The new album is called “Leaving Babylon” and is set for a September release on Dependent Records.

Since we last heard from them, Daniel Myer has left the band to focus on his own projects (as mentioned in a previous News piece). So the line-up is now Eskil Simonsson, Joakim Montelius and Daniel Jonasson (the Dupont member and Tinitus organizer seems to be a full member now).

The album will feature both brand new songs as well as “Northern Light” era demos that have finally been finished. They say:

- Leaving Babylon is Covenant’s sonic exploration into uncharted emotional waters. It’s the feeling of memory made sound – the melancholy of Sweden in the wintertime, the strange beat of electric hearts, and the longing for forgotten parties.

Of course this doesn’t say anything about how it will sound, but it signals that they’re venturing into new territory and at the same time looking back at the old “Northern Light” sound.

Eskil also has this to say:

- I have a very good feeling about the new studio material. It breathes the vibe of our classic albums like “Northern Light” and “United States of Mind”. The new setup feels very good for us, and the results are promising. I think you will like it.

Covenant will embark on a German tour in September.


Picture of Eskil and Joakim from 2013