Amphi Festival 10th anniversary in 1 month
Jun 2014 29

This year’s Amphi Festival is one month away and it’s the 10th edition. We take a look at the festival, the 2 cruises, the cancellation of Suicide Commando, the compilation CD and more. Release will go to Amphi again.

Most German festivals go on and on and the successful Amphi is no different. There are several reasons for the success. The location in central Cologne, within walking distance from hotels and railway stations, is one of them. The festival area itself is another: it’s tight, well-serviced and quite unsensitive to bad weather with indoor stages and an outdoor stage with sun and rain roofs. The huge beach club with sand and sun chairs and the market are popular too.

Over 40 live acts will perform on July 26-27, among them The Klinik, Midge Ure, Front 242, Die Krupps, In the Nursery, Rotersand, Eisbrecher, Mesh, Camouflage, Hocico, Pouppée Fabrikk, Apoptygma Berzerk and She Past Away. Steve Naghavi (And One), Daniel Myer (Haujobb) and 9 other DJ:s will spin music.

Call the Ships 2 Port on MS RheinEnergie the day before Amphi kicks off, will offer Rhein river live shows by Project Pitchfork and Agonoize. Agonoize replaces Suicide Commando that had to cancel; Johan van Roy has injured his knee, will undergo surgery and the recovery will take at least 2 months.

On Friday the 25th, Spetsnaz, Rabia Sorda, Chrom and 5 other bands will perform at the 8 Years E:O:D event at Essigfabrik in Cologne.

777 tickets have also been sold to the Call the Ships 2 Night event on the last night of the festival. It’s another cruise, this time on MS RheinFantasie with VNV Nation (classical), Solar Fake and Sonja Kraushofer (L’Âme Immortelle, Persephone, Coma Divine) live.

The organisers have put together the low-priced 19-track “Amphi Festival 2014″ compilation, to be released by Out of Line on July 25.

Track listing:

1. Blutengel: “Krieger“ (Symphonic Version)
2. Eisbrecher: “Die Engel“
3. Lord Of The Lost: “Six Feet Underground“
4. Front 242: “U-Men“ (live)
5. The Klinik: “Go Back“
6. Die Krupps: “Nocebo“
7. Mono Inc: “Seligkeit“
8. Zeromancer: “Doppelgänger I Love You“
9. Camouflage: “Confusion“
10. Torul: All on“
11. Rotersand: “Beneath the Stars“
12. Project Pitchfork: “Storm Flower“
13. Hocico: “Come and Eat It“
14. Solar Fake: “Face Me“
15. The Juggernauts: “Phoenix“
16. The Neon Judgement: “Leash“
17. Clan Of Xymox: “Love’s on Diet“
18. Nachtmahr: Feindbild“
19. Aesthetic Perfection: “Motherfucker“